You are not logged in.

WAWA CONSPI - The Savoisien

Exegi monumentum aere perennius

Announcement

#1 21-12-2011 01:03:22

Dejuificator II
Maîtres Ascensionnés V.I.P
Registered: 03-03-2011
Posts: 552

Bly Robert - Iron John

Bly Robert

Iron John
A book about men






Bly Robert - Iron John.pdf (4.67 MB)
http://www.balderexlibris.com/index.php … -Iron-John


Bly_Robert_-_Iron_John.jpg

When Bill Moyers's PBS special on Robert Bly, "A Gathering of Men," aired in the winter of 1990, it brought forth an unprecedented flood of calls and letters from both men and women attesting to the pain and confusion experienced by many contemporary men.


Iron John is Robert Bly's long-awaited book on male initiation and the role of the mentor, the result often years' work with men to discover the truths about masculinity that get beyond the stereotypes of our popular culture. In the tradition of Blake, Yeats, and D. H. Lawrence, Bly has turned to the most ancient stories and legends to remind men and women of welcome images long forgotten, images of a vigorous masculinity both protective and emotionally centered.


Bly takes as the frame for his book the tale of "Iron John," which the Grimm brothers collected in the early nineteenth century, but which in its themes and motifs goes back thousands of years. In the story, an ancient "hairy man"—Iron John—becomes mentor to a young boy, and each event or adventure is regarded as a stage in male growth.


As Bly retells the story, he stops at times to reflect on initiation rituals for men which still go on in some parts of the world or are still remembered in epics such as The Odyssey. As the book progresses, it brings together a rich and coherent picture of what it has meant through time to pass from boyhood into manhood.

Throughout that long history of initiation the role of the older men has been central. Yet in our own time, the young men Bly observes are hungering for the father and the mentor as intensely as they hunger for food. Some stay stuck in the "tough guy" mode. Others linger in the naïveté that destroys relationships, so doubtful of themselves that they can be life preserving... but not life giving. Such men in recent times have been directed toward some form of "higher" consciousness, or perhaps "higher" achievement. Bly offers instead the way of descent, in which the psyche learns to grieve. As "Iron John" and so many other stories show us, grief—the time of ashes—is the door to feeling.

Iron John also points the way toward developing what Bly calls the "inner warrior," whose task is not hostility and aggression but a steady resolve to know and to defend what one loves. This initiatory path, which is long, begins by getting in touch with the "Wild Man" who reconnects us to the Earth and who helps us, in the terms given by the story, "steal the key from under the mother's pillow."


But unlike Freud, Bly does not "blame the mother" for the boy's problems. The initiatory process as Bly presents it honors the feminine and involves partnership with the feminine. This book returns responsibility to the older males for bringing the boy into the world of men.


Iron John is at the same time a new vision and a very ancient vision of adult manhood, one that has depth, vividness, and solidity. It reconfirms the power of ancient stories to guide, to heal, and to convey the deepest truths, and it will be read by men and women for decades.


ROBERT BLY is a poet, storyteller, translator, and worldwide lecturer. His poetry has won many awards, including the National Book Award. This is his first full-length book of prose. With his wife, Ruth, he lives on a lake in Minnesota.

Last edited by DejuificatorII (21-12-2011 01:09:40)


Nous serons toujours là.

Offline

#2 08-05-2014 12:22:59

Dejuificator II
Maîtres Ascensionnés V.I.P
Registered: 03-03-2011
Posts: 552

Re: Bly Robert - Iron John

Iron John
AUDIOBOOK

Here is the long-awaited work of renowned poet and storyteller Robert Bly that explores and challenges the male psyche. In it, Bly brings to light a burgeoning "underground" of men seeking to find a lost heritage of emotional connection—to their fathers, their children, their wives, themselves. Using the Grimm fairy tale as a vehicle, Bly takes us back to a model of masculinity which is neither Rambo nor "wimp," but rather more like Odysseus. He examines the myths and cultural underpinnings of this classic male model—a combination of fierceness and tenderness long since sacrificed to the demands of the industrial revolution. Such a sacrifice, says Bly, has given rise to a male sense of loss and unacknowledged pain.

Iron John works to heal this pain and to define a new era in the relations between the sexes—it is the definitive book about men—for men and for women.


______________________________________________________________________________

Bly Robert - Iron John AUDIOBOOK.zip 40.9 MB
https://mega.co.nz/#!0sgWlDoY!iczWh5Yd4 … 1RbSNXEpco

https://archive.org/details/uJxlzNzJqtKXd

______________________________________________________________________________

Last edited by DejuificatorII (08-05-2014 12:23:11)


Nous serons toujours là.

Offline

Board footer


Minds - VK - GAB - RSS

Balder Ex-libris - Histoire Ebook - Free PDF - Aryana Libris - PDF Archive

Aldebaran Video - Viva Europa - Le Gentil - Un grain de Sable

WAWA CONSPI
WAWA CONSPI
The Savoisien
The Savoisien - Lenculus
Exegi monumentum aere perennius